West Virginia

west virginia sedation regulations

Oral Sedation Dentistry Regulations

Effective October 24, 2016, the West Virginia Board of Dental Examiners requires a dentist to complete at least 60 hours of instructive classroom training with 20 clinical patient cases, ensure at least one staff member is patient monitoring-certified, and obtain a Class 3 permit before administering oral or IV moderate sedation to their patients.

Find qualifying moderate sedation dentistry training courses

Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certification is required.

*Dentists administering a single oral sedative for Anxiolysis are required to possess a Class 2 certificate.

Permit Renewal Requirements: Sixteen (16) hours every two (2) years. ACLS counts for 8 hours.

Listen here now!

It look's like you don't have Adobe Flash Player installed. Get it now.


West Virginia Board of Dentistry Rule §30-4A-5 requires dentists to complete at least 6 hours of classroom and clinical training, and obtain a Class 2 permit before providing their patients with minimal sedation using nitrous-oxide and an oral sedative.

Clinically tested and up-to-date nitrous-oxide and oral minimal sedation techniques are being taught at a training program in Dallas, TX (October 20-21, 2017) that meets these requirements.

Special sessions regarding patient selection/assessment, airway management, medical emergencies, anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, contraindications, documentation, certification, monitoring, inventory, and dispensing of medications are also included.

This course provides 16 hours of CE credits and may be applied to your CE requirements for license renewal. DOCS Education is an AGD PACE-approved provider [#217651].

*Dentists in West Virginia who practice minimal sedation using nitrous-oxide and an oral sedative without a current permit may face fines and reprimands.

Pediatric Sedation Dentistry Regulations

Sedation dentistry for children is a unique science and requires pediatric-specific training. The standard of care for providing pediatric sedation requires several hours of instructive classroom training with clinically-oriented experiences. Learn more about Pediatric Sedation Training Courses availabe nationwide.

IV Sedation Regulations

Most states require dentists to complete a 60-hour didactic course followed by 20 actual clinical patient cases of IV administration plus a permit in order to provide their patients with IV sedation. Find an IV Sedation Training course

Regulatory assistance: DOCS Education membership provides direct access to our full-time Regulatory Counsel for assistance in complying with the training and equipment requirements, obtaining your permit, and addressing advertising issues.

Why Do Oral Sedation?

An estimated 100 Million (nearly 30%) people nationwide are in need of dental care but too fearful to seek you out. To date, access to care for these patients has been limited. Now you can help.

Practicing oral sedation has many advantages for you, not the least of which is treating a more comfortable patient. Other advantages are: performing more dentistry in a single visit instead of having the patient come back again and again; bigger restorative cases from patients who were previously reluctant due to anxiety; and patients feeling little to no post-operative discomfort regardless of the procedure - resulting in more referrals.

And for your patients it means something else. A comfortable experience - often with no recollection of the visit or the time passed. I often hear of patients who call their dentist the next day not to complain, but to express their gratitude and delight in their first ever visit to the dentist without fear.